Simon & Schuster Newswire

Comprehensive Real-Time News Feed for Simon & Schuster.

Results 1 - 20 of 1,751 in Simon & Schuster

  1. Amazon Reaches Multiyear E-Book Pact With Macmillan PublishersRead the original story

    2 hrs ago | Bloomberg

    ... retailer's tactics were causing the loss of income. Amazon also signed a multiyear deal with publisher Simon & Schuster in October. "Under our deal with Amazon your net percentage of the proceeds will not change," Sargent wrote to the publishing ...

    Comment?

  2. At 25 Years Young, 'Simpsons' Still Has Plenty Of UpsideRead the original story w/Photo

    3 hrs ago | Forbes.com

    ... Inside the Preschool Entertainment Boom, or, How Television Became My Baby's Best Friend (Free Press/Simon & Schuster). I did fall off the wagon for three years and worked in PR at Rubenstein Communications, but representing Tribeca Enterprises, ...

    Comment?

  3. Amazon reaches e-book pact with MacmillanRead the original story w/Photo

    3 hrs ago | Salt Lake Tribune

    ... retailer's tactics were causing the loss of income. Amazon also signed a multiyear deal with publisher Simon & Schuster in October. "Under our deal with Amazon your net percentage of the proceeds will not change," Sargent wrote to the publishing ...

    Comment?

  4. Legendary Pictures Bringing The Damned to the Big ScreenRead the original story w/Photo

    6 hrs ago | DreadCentrol.com

    Though it hasn't even been released yet, Andrew Pyper's upcoming novel The Damned has already been scooped up for a feature film adaptation, which lets us know that it's one book that's going to be worth reading. Speaking of reading, you'll find all the details by reading on! Per Variety today, Legendary Pictures has optioned the film rights to the novel, being published on February 10th by Simon & Schuster.

    Comment?

  5. Another of Amazon's Opponents Calls a TruceRead the original story w/Photo

    7 hrs ago | New York Magazine

    ... to make a deal with the etailer to regain at least some control over the price of the company's books. (Simon & Schuster made a deal in October, and Hachette, whose books Amazon had been deliberately underselling, came to terms last month.) There's ...

    Comment?

  6. For Musicians, A Way To Turn Streams Of Pennies Into Streams Of DollarsRead the original story w/Photo

    8 hrs ago | Forbes.com

    Zack O'Malley Greenburg here, thanks for reading! I'm a senior editor at Forbes , where I cover the business of music & entertainment. I'm author of Empire State of Mind: How Jay-Z Went From Street Corner To Corner Office ; my second book, the business biography Michael Jackson, Inc , was published by Simon & Schuster in 2014.

    Comment?

  7. Macmillan, too, returns to agency pricing with AmazonRead the original story w/Photo

    11 hrs ago | GigaOM

    Book publisher Macmillan, like Simon & Schuster and Hachette before it, has signed a new contract with Amazon and will return to agency pricing on its ebooks starting in 2015. In a public letter to authors and agents , Macmillan CEO John Sargent also said Amazon's dominance in the ebook marketplace is a problem and that the publisher will experiment with ebook subscription models as a way to diversify its revenue streams.

    Comment?

  8. How YouTube Megastar Connor Franta Is Channeling His Eclectic Passions Into Entrepreneurial GoldRead the original story w/Photo

    18 hrs ago | Entrepreneur Magazine

    ... album of 12 of his favorite songs, which reached number 12 on the iTunes pop charts.) Franta also has a Simon & Schuster book coming out in April, as well his own retail clothing line in the works. A precedent for success in both of these categories ...

    Comment?

  9. Legendary Pictures options upcoming thriller novel "The Damned"Read the original story w/Photo

    18 hrs ago | PanArmenian Network

    Simon & Schuster will publish in February the book described as an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of "The Sixth Sense" and "Jacob's Ladder." Legendary's upcoming films include cyberthriller "Blackhat," "Seventh Son" and Guillermo del Toro's "Crimson Peak."

    Comment?

  10. The art of letters: Four recommended artbooksRead the original story w/Photo

    Yesterday | Creative Loafing Tampa

    ... photo cover of Nauman's notoriously messy studio. The Blazing World by Siri Hustvedt (Simon & Schuster, $26) The premise of Hustvedt's novel elicits a wry smile: A forbiddingly smart middle-aged female artist named Harriet ...

    Comment?

  11. On Native GroundGLOBAL Warming: the Alarms are Growing LouderRead the original story

    Dec 6, 2012 | American Reporter

    ... the Bush Administration was issued by the usually cautious former President Jimmy Carter, author of the Simon & Schuster book, Our Endangered Values: America's Moral Crisis. In a November 2005 column, "This isn't the real America," in the Los ...

    Comment?

  12. Legendary Options Andrew Pyper's 'The Damned'Read the original story w/Photo

    Wednesday | Deadline

    Legendary Pictures has optioned the rights to Andrew Pyper 's forthcoming novel The Damned . Described as an elevated supernatural thriller in the vein of The Sixth Sense or Jacob's Ladder , the book will be published by Simon & Schuster in February.

    Comment?

  13. Legendary Pictures Options the Rights to Andrew Pyper's The DamnedRead the original story w/Photo

    Wednesday | ComingSoon.net

    Legendary Pictures has optioned the rights to Andrew Pyper's forthcoming novel "The Damned," which will be published by Simon & Schuster in February 2015. Legendary's Alex Hedlund and Tracy Stevens will oversee the project.

    Comment?

  14. New & notable: Christmas titlesRead the original story w/Photo

    Wednesday | Star-Telegram.com

    ... from big names available now. Just add eggnog and a Yule log. The Mistletoe Promise, by Richard Paul Evans (Simon & Schuster, $19.99) - The bestselling author (The Christmas Box) offers the story of a lonely woman who enters into a ...

    Comment?

  15. Music Losers 2014: Robin Thicke, Apple, Last Year's Queens Of PopRead the original story w/Photo

    Wednesday | Forbes.com

    Zack O'Malley Greenburg here, thanks for reading! I'm a senior editor at Forbes , where I cover the business of music & entertainment. I'm author of Empire State of Mind: How Jay-Z Went From Street Corner To Corner Office ; my second book, the business biography Michael Jackson, Inc , was published by Simon & Schuster in 2014.

    Comment?

  16. Richard Zoglin and Dick Cavett Set for Theater Talk this WeekRead the original story w/Photo

    Wednesday | BroadwayWorld.com

    ... TALK features critic and author Richard Zoglin on his new bestseller, HOPE: Entertainer of the Century (Simon & Schuster), a comprehensive biography of the incomparable comedian, stage, film & TV star Bob Hope. Joining Zoglin is writer and iconic ...

    Comment?

  17. Hillary Clinton on Cover of People's Worst-Selling Issue of the YearRead the original story w/Photo

    Wednesday | Mediaite.com

    ... by tepid book sales for the heavily-promoted Hard Choices, which fell well short of expectations for a book Simon & Schuster paid the author a $14 million advance for, the second highest in history. The publisher was looking for one million copies ...

    Comment?

  18. Minority religions in the Middle East: Not just the faiths of AbrahamRead the original story w/Photo

    Wednesday | The Economist

    ... into the Disappearing Religions of the Middle East. By Gerard Russell. Basic Books; 320 pages; $28.99. Simon & Schuster; A 20. Buy from Amazon.com , Amazon.co.uk THE thrust of this wonderfully intriguing book is that virtually all the religions of ...

    Comment?

  19. The Motley Fool: Are stock buybacks good or bad?Read the original story w/Photo

    Tuesday | Houston Chronicle

    ... am I? CBS ( NYSE : CBS), with properties such as The CW, Showtime Networks, TVGN, Smithsonian Networks and Simon & Schuster, has great growth opportunities for the future and a fallen stock that seems undervalued now. CBS is a company in transition, ...

    Comment?

  20. 'Goodbye to All That' Is Pure North Carolindie FilmmakingRead the original story w/Photo

    Tuesday | Forbes.com

    ... Inside the Preschool Entertainment Boom, or, How Television Became My Baby's Best Friend (Free Press/Simon & Schuster). I did fall off the wagon for three years and worked in PR at Rubenstein Communications, but representing Tribeca Enterprises, ...

    Comment?