Colorado Shooting Rekindles Gun Control Debate

Jul 22, 2012 Full story: Roll Call 5,107

Sen. Dianne Feinstein called for increased gun control in the wake of last week's Colorado shooting, saying it may have helped prevent the tragic incident.

Full Story
Patriot

Clarksville, TN

#1684 Aug 13, 2012
Marauder wrote:
<quoted text>
No it's not. Many of the modern firearms without external safeties have internal "drop safeties". Firearm technology has come a long way since the 1911.
My series 80 Colt had the "inertia safety" to cover the issue if the pistol were to be dropped to avoid a AD. The part went bad and I could not find the replacement parts, so I converted the series 80 safety to 70 series specs.I have limited experience with the more modern handguns. I own a DA russian Makarov but it has external safety.I have shot a Glock some, to me the polymer frame and steel slide just feels top heavy and not well balanced, but other folks swear by them. I was trained on the 1911 and it works well for me. I have looked at the new Springfield XD series, the main reason I did not buy one is that I was trained on the 1911 and have all the supporting gear(mags, holster,etc to accommodate it and also it is pretty simple and up to a point I can work on it if need arises. The only problem I have had in 30+ years with the 1911 was a broken extractor,and it was on a WW2 vintage piece.
Patriot

Clarksville, TN

#1685 Aug 13, 2012
barefoot2626 wrote:
<quoted text>
The death rate per 100,000 for motor vehicles is 11.2; for firearms, it's 10.2.
Yes: I call that close.
PS: this was for 2009; motor fatalities have gone down; firearms... up.
It's closer today.
according to FBI stats violent crimes has decreased over the past few years.
Patriot

Clarksville, TN

#1686 Aug 13, 2012
Where Is My America wrote:
<quoted text>I am not fan of Romney.
He will get my vote because I am voting against Obama.
I think they are both losers and it is a sad situation.