Mitt Romney goes bold (and risky) with Paul Ryan vice presidential pick

Aug 11, 2012 | Posted by: roboblogger | Full story: Washington Post

The news that Mitt Romney is expected to name Wisconsin Rep. Paul Ryan as his vice presidential nominee today in Norfolk, Virginia amounts to a decidedly bold stroke for the typical risk-averse GOP presidential candidate, a pick that will almost certainly turn the race into a choice between two competing - and strikingly contrasting - visions for ... (more)

Comments
461 - 480 of 2,267 Comments Last updated Dec 12, 2013
Pamela

Citrus Heights, CA

#520 Aug 12, 2012
The Whiz wrote:
<quoted text>
Employed young people are beginning to scream. I'm a paramedic/fireman, work mostly with young people. When we receive our checks, we laugh.
About 85% of our public emergency ambulance calls are from Seniors. The average tab for a limo ride to the hospital is $700 ..
About 5% of our calls are from seniors who have fallen or require assistance. There is no charge for helping them, property taxes foot the gas/personnel cost.
Last, the senior emergency calls when nothing is wrong. Sometimes it's anxiety or fear. Like the 'fall' calls, they are free. One widowed lady calls us every week complaining of chest pain. We go, hold her hand and leave. No charge.
The family unit has evaporated and older people have nobody to turn to. It's a rather sad situation. Something must change.