Posted in the Orlando Forum

First Prev
of 4
Next Last

“OrlandoSentinel. com”

Since: Nov 06

Orlando

#1 Feb 23, 2008
For Black History Month, the Orlando Sentinel's Jeff Kunerth looks at the lives and legacy of those who opened the door to integration in Orlando.

This message board is to discuss the stories from this eight-day series.

The stories as well as video, timeline, documents and a searchable database of Orange County school racial makeup over the years can be seen beginning today at OrlandoSentinel.com/desegregation .

Please read the series and help contribute to a worthy discussion of school desegregation as a whole and its status today, in the past and in the future here in Orange County and Central Florida.

Richard Tribou
Senior Editor
OrlandoSentinel.com
steve

Orlando, FL

#2 Feb 24, 2008
I graduated Colonial in 1972 . Desegretation was just getting started in my junior and senior years. We didn't have many problems that I could recall. I had a black teacher who taught Literature. She had an all white class and we didn't give her any trouble and respected her. I think that in my senior year we had a few black students and there wasn't any issues that I can recall. Orlando and Florida in general didn't have near the trouble other citys and states had.
Factorial

Winter Springs, FL

#3 Feb 24, 2008
I have to object to the wording in your opening title that implies that these lawsuits "taught whites equality". You don't teach anybody or anythig but hatreds and resentments by bringing lawsuits and getting up in their faces. Segregation was forced in by Federal laws at the point of a gun, not by anything these people did or didn't do.