Same-sex couple sues government

Dec 8, 2012 Full story: WTAE-TV Pittsburgh

When President Barack Obama formally ended "don't ask, don't tell" in July 2011, ending a 17-year ban on gays serving openly in the U.S. military, Tracey Cooper-Harris felt liberated about her future as a veteran.

Full Story

“TAKIA AND TA TONKA”

Since: Aug 08

HAPPY TOGETHER!!!

#1 Dec 8, 2012
Being a Veteran myself, I've recently tried adding my wife to my VA disability compensation and was also denied because my wife is the "WRONG" gender.......I know this couple personally and hope that SCOTUS will do the right thing by ruling DOMA Section 3 UNCONSTITUTIONAL as well as upholding either the 9th's ruling on Prop 8 or Judge Walker's ruling on Prop 8!!!
The Mad Man

Long Beach, CA

#2 Dec 8, 2012
Despite that this issues is not recognized by the govt, the employee can get life insurance (SGLI) to cover her partner. This might help with any future expenses.
The Mad Man

Long Beach, CA

#3 Dec 8, 2012
At present there aren't too many ways around this unless Tracey wants to use her SGLI money for private burial which can include her partner. She is fighting the govt and the gvt usually wins unless her lawsuit take prescient which would change a lot for same sex couples so I wish her the best. Until then, she needs to get her condition treated seriously before she tackles the govt. If the couple did not co-mix their finances there is a lot they can do. If they did co-mix their finances, this will cause problems. Research the local laws to know and understand how this will affect their lives. That is just the way it is at present and to protect yourself, know what you are getting into before you become 'emotionally' attached and understand how these laws will affect your lives. That is the only way you can protect yourselves.

“Headed toward the cliff”

Since: Nov 07

Tawas City, Michigan

#4 Dec 8, 2012
Add her to the growing list of married same-sex couples suing to overturn DOMA.