Comments (Page 10)
|
Same email PayPal notice for a Sony PlayStation $434.95, Bakewell, Elm St.,
Brownswell, Pa. What I can't understand, if this has been going on for years, why hasn't PayPay served notice to its client base about this scam. And why does't PayPay effect a filter, for those messages that carry its letterhead; I understand that it's not rocket science. |
||||
|
I just got the same email from Wayne Bakewell. Although this is obviously a fake since my paypal account was zero, I am glad to see so many others check before clicking.
Be safe! |
||||
Maybe PayPal isn't so safe to use after all. You are exactly right about this not being brought to someone's immediate attention. There's so many computer hackers and so much scamming going on anymore on the internet. Sooner or later it will be like walking into a land mine when we use it. |
||||
|
I got this email today 4/13/08 saying Pay Pal had done a transaction from Wayne Bakewell. He's probably some totally innocent person whose name and address was listed in the white pages to hide the true identity of the perpetrator. I don't think my info was accessed as I didn't log in to Pay Pal. What I want to get across to you others is that Wayne Bakewell is probably NOT the true perpetrator. I saw this situation hundreds of times while working in the classified advertising section of a major newspaper. People used other people's names and addresses to bill to.
|
||||
|
Exactly ...
that's exactly what happened. It's not unlike the Nigerian advance fee scam, people don't assess what's really taken place during the transaction until after the fact ... this one is, particularly, malicious because an innocent person gets the ire. Thanx for the clarification. |
||||
|
I just received my Email from paypal for an item that was bought from creative labs. the shipping address is the same Wayne E. Bakewell in Brownsville PA. I dont know what the deal is in stopping this.
|
||||
|
I got an email today (5/27/09............same name, Wayne E. Bakewell, saying I was being charged $399.98 + 6% tax from creative labs. I immediately got in touch with Paypal and changed password and closed by credit card. Paypal will send an email addressed onlly to you with your name and you cannot click on a link.. you have to log in. Hope this helps someone. Sure seems like this has been going on a long time.
|
||||
|
Best solution: forward the e-mail to spoof@paypal.com.
|
||||
|
i received the same email L Walker received and just about panicked-i didnt click on the link but i deleted the email before i remembered to report it-glad this is here to confirm i shouldnt be charged-if anyone can tell me how to reach paypal please email me at bw_warr@msn.com-i have NEVER used it and dont really remember ever giving them my cc# but would like to contact them to be sure everything is straight--any help is appreciated--thanks in advance
|
||||
|
Go to their website. U can get a contact number there. Topix wont let me put it here. I just got the same email this morning. Contacted paypal, they confirmed that my account has not been compromised.
|
||||
|
I just received a notice from PayPal that is the same as previously posted with regard to Wayne Balewell. Mine said the amount charges was for $423.98 and it will appear on my bill as PayPal Creative.
This is a fraud and anyone who recieves this should report it. |
||||
|
AOL |
June 24, 2009 - FRAUD CONTINUES Received email from PayPal - for a payment for $423.98 with shipping info - Wayne E. Bakewell, 16 Elm Street, Brownsville, PA
Decided to google and this site came up! thank you! I figured it was a scam as I havent purchased anything in a long time. |
|||
|
Shipping Info: Wayne E Bakewell
16 elm st Brownsville, PA 15417 United States Item # Item Title Quantity $399.99 USD $399.99 USD I do not remember my password to Pay Pay and I hope this don't go through. I hope and pray this is a scam and don't know how to cancel it. I did selct Cancel transation. |
||||
|
I received an e-mail for this joker today. He needs to be stopped. He is nothing but a crook.
|
||||
|
Same here. I have a $400 charge on mine. How do we stop this person? I bet it is a false add too.
|
||||
they don't have your paypal info, they send this to millions of people as spam, and they hope to get a response from those who have paypal, i get the same garbage saying there are problems at banks, that i don't even bank at. If you respond they want you to enter your financial info,then they steal your money, forward the mail to: spoof@paypal.com and then delete the mail. |
||||
|
||||
Please note by clicking on "Post Comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator. Send us your feedback.
| Topic | Updated | Last By | Comments |
|---|---|---|---|
| 24 Charged In Pittsburgh-Area Mortgage Fraud; T... (Feb '08) | Dec 15 | Two | 301 |
| dysfunctional families | Dec 4 | aminorbender | 1 |
| Edenfield Stages bus firm files for bankruptcy | Nov '09 | Concerned | 2 |
| anon | Nov '09 | lookingformy... | 2 |
| onderko family | Nov '09 | Onderko family | 1 |
| Tobias, deceased 1979 Brownsville PA | Nov '09 | TOBIAS FAMIL... | 7 |
| joe lopez of mazz (Dec '08) | Nov '09 | jackie | 19 |