2005 jeep grand cherokee 5.7L stalling and surging or stuttering

Posted in the Jeep Grand Cherokee Forum

First Prev
of 4
Next Last
victoryrules

Portland, ME

#1 Jun 3, 2009
The engine surges at around 1000-1500rpm while just barely on the throttle and maintaining speed around 25-40mph. Also has stalling issues once in a great while just coming onto the throttle and a hesitation around the 1000-1200 rpm area. Any help would greatly appreciated...
king9988

United States

#2 Sep 1, 2009
I have this same problem with my 05 JGC 4.7L V8. If I let it sit overnight, it tends to stall in the AM when I first start running it at low RPMs.(Basically when I hit one of the 2 red lights from my house). Anyone know what could be causing this?
anthony

Virginia Beach, VA

#3 Mar 13, 2010
i have a 06 jgc 3.7 and it does the same thing, im a mechanic and ran a test on my fuel pump module and it gets low voltage at a low rpm which causes it to stutter at low speeds, will take to dealer cause its still under warranty and i dont like electrical lol
B-Rad

Grand Rapids, MI

#4 Mar 26, 2010
My 05 Grand Cherokee 4.7 stumbles, studders and chugges when going over bumps, potholes, railroad tracks. Acts like it's loosing an electrical connection to the engine. Dealer can't find it. I've checked all the connectors I can find. Anyone else?
roger

Genoa City, WI

#5 Apr 17, 2010
have a 2005 jeep grand cherokee, 4.7 come to a stop or light , engine kills, starts right up , runs good high speed, i have replaced the idle air control motor, and the throttle position sensor, and new battery, seems to always stall when in gear, come up to stop and into netral, doesnt kill, any answers, thanks roger
lkempf

Evansville, IN

#6 May 24, 2010
B-Rad wrote:
My 05 Grand Cherokee 4.7 stumbles, studders and chugges when going over bumps, potholes, railroad tracks. Acts like it's loosing an electrical connection to the engine. Dealer can't find it. I've checked all the connectors I can find. Anyone else?