42°F | 31°F
Tega Cay Crime
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Tega Cay, SC or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Tega Cay People Search
Tega Cay Law
Can an attorney help me with this rather convoluted tale of DWI/DUI convictions and subsequent license suspensions?
I was a licensed SC driver and was convicted of my 1st DWI in NC in Oct '07. My license was suspended for a year. I was then convicted of a 2nd misdemeanor DUI in SC in Jan '11 and a 3rd misdemeanor DWI in NC in Feb '11. These last 2 convictions haven't been reported to the other state's DMV as of yet (nearly 3 years). The SCDMV shows I was eligible to receive my license back in January of 2012 but NC reports I'm suspended until Feb. 2015. I am aware that further suspensions could result if & when NC/SC find out about the third DWI/DUI. I've tried to contact the courts & both state's DMVs to try and make them aware of the 3rd offense to no avail. I decided to wait until the NC suspension is up in 2015 to attempt to restore driving privileges but still fear suspensions then. What can I do?
Really the best thing to do is just wait out the process and not needlessly inform other states about these offenses....
I was convicted of three misdemeanor charges of Driving Under the Influence in NC/SC six years ago all in a span of one year. Since then, I have completed a bachelor's degree in psychology and a master's degree in criminal justice while working full-time. and staying clean and sober. I would like to be a substance abuse counselor and obtain my Master of Social Work. However, I am hesitant to spend the time and money acquiring this degree if ultimately I will be denied licensure. Can anyone offer sound advice as to whether this would be a worthwhile endeavor or an exercise in futility?
You don't have a problem in the DUI category -- you have a problem in the professional licensing or administrative law...
Was recently convicted for DUI first from incident that occurred 11/2011.Have a prior conviction from 2008.DMV has suspended me.
Why can I not receive provisionals? I work ,have completed adsap,attend community support groups and have been clean and sober since 3/9/2012.Also I transport my dad who is disabled to veterans hospital
I have a couple of different thoughts. First, if you had an attorney on the 2011 DUI, give them a call and talk to them....
Can I postpone getting my license reinstated to avoid having to get the Interlock system after 1st DUI?
I live in South Carolina, but got my DUI in North Carolina. My license was suspended for 1 year, paid the fines, and completed all alcohol classes. My attorney at the time said I may have to get the interlock system installed, but if I waited for 3 years to reinstate my license I wouldn't have to. I wanted a second opinion because her knowledge of the laws with me being from a different state was limited. I did not know this until after I hired her.
Most attorneys are only truly familiar with the law in the state in which they practice. You may want to consider...
First offense - blew . 18 , ( has metal bonded retainers - was a question asked by attorney - seemed relevant to him ) but the private attorney consult indicated he could plead to DUAC , pay a $ 1000 fine and enter a treatment program . Once completed , if he stays clear for 3 years , the charge can be expunged from his record . Is this true ? Will the PD ask for / get the same reduced charge . He was also charged with failure to yield and unlawful start of a vehicle . The private attorney said these could be dropped . Of course , he costs 4K where the PD is free which leaves more money for the fines / programs .
Although I do not practice in your jurisdiction, I can attest that public defenders are usually very competent and very...
Need advice on what to do about a bench warrant for a 1st offense DUI for not being able to pay my fine
I have never been in trouble in my entire life until I got a DUI in the state of SC. It was my 1st offense and my alcohol level was a .08. The judge ordered me to take this class that they require and also pay a fine of $997. I completed the class, but have not had the money to pay my fine yet. She issued a bench warrant if I didn't pay my fine by a certain date and that date has passed. If I had the money, I would have paid it, but I don't work and I have 3 kids. Twins that are 1 year old and a 2 year old and my husband is the only one who works and does not make enough money. I do plan to pay this fine soon, but I am so scared as to what will happen to me when I do pay it. Any advice on what I should do? If I go to jail even after paying this, could it be for a long time?
My advise to you is pay something. $5, $10. Judges only have so much authority to make you do something. YES you...
Is the portable breath alizer the same as the car one?
It might be. It's unclear if you have an ignition interlock device as part of a plea agreement or some other type of...
Comments made yesterday: 64,448 • Total comments across all topics: 233,976,528
Copyright © 2014 Topix LLC