73°F | 55°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Sussex, WI or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Sussex People Search
I was charged with 1st offense DUI with a minor in the vehicle. I have one year probation with 15 days jail. I am almost done serving my time and am wondering what to expect during my probation. I have heard that a SCRAM bracelet is required in some cases, usually repeat offenders. My P.O. was not sure if I would be required to wear one in my case. I was just wondering if any Lawyers have been through a case like mine and if the SCRAM bracelet was required.
At the risk of sounding glib: A SCRAM bracelet is required as long as your PO says it is. Your PO is in charge of the...
I was pulled over in Wisconsin first offense DUI with a minor in the vehicle. I was told I could get up to 6 months jail time with Huber privleges so that I can keep my job. The state's initial offer was 12 months probation and 15-20 days County Jail. Does that mean I won't get Huber release? Sounds like I will have the option of doing a short amount of full time jail OR long jail with Huber release? What are my chances of getting Huber privleges with the 20 days? I don't have any vacation time left and could lose my job over all this. I am so confused. I am in counseling and will have character reference letters. I would rather have more probation time and no jail. Do they ever do that?
You should be able to get huber privileges on that 15-20 day conditional jail sentence (a sentence served as a...
Can I still submit a Notice To Suspend License form (to try to NOT have it suspended) after the 10day filing period has passed?
I unfortunately received a Notice To Suspend form in the mail after my arrest for 1st time OUI. It is 100% IMPERATIVE that I be able to drive to maintain my job as well as for dire financial reasons. Does submitting this form mean that I am automatically claiming "Not Guilty" or just that I wish to ask NOT to have my license suspended? Please inform! Thank you .
You can try, sometimes DOT won't notice that a deadline has been missed by a day or so. Note that it is ten business...
Is it wise to get a court appointed atty.for a 1st time DUI? I cannot afford an expensive lawyer but NEED driving privileges,etc
It is imperative that for both financial & job security reasons that I do NOT miss work. I've received a notice of intent to suspend my license. I absolutely cannot afford an expensive atty. & have been told the court would appt. one for me. Is this wise??
Unless you had a minor in the car with you or you caused an injury, a first offense is not criminal, so you are not...
When a case is adjourned does the person remain in custody until the next court date, I'm in Wisconsin
This was a dui case and it has been adjourned until june defendant already in custody will they remain there until the next court date
Generally yes, unless the person is able to post bail. An attorney could file a motion to modify the bail and have a...
I am complying with all of the courts orders and have finished my time in Huber. All of my fines are paid. I have the IID in my car and am compliant with that as well. I don't have any criminal record other than the 2 DUI charges. I am supposed to be eligible for my occupational license in 2 months, but got pulled over last week for license plate renewal not up to date(which I have taken care of) and got the ticket for OAR. How likely is it that I will end up serving actual jail time for this offense?
It depends on your prosecutor and judge. Often times, if you are eligible to reinstate your license soon, the charge...
I received my first OWI in Wisconsin. I blew a .07 on record at the police station. Can I still be issued an OWI citation?
I was pulled over for speeding. Admitted to having a couple drinks after being asked. Politely accepted to do a sobriety test. I apparently failed my physical test (it was -8 degrees out) along with blowing a .10. I was arrested. After 20 minute observation period I blew a .09 at the station. After the officer realized he hadn't read the "Informing the Accused" notice the breath test had to be redone a 2nd time. After another 20 minute observation period my breath test came to .07 which goes on my record and saved me from a suspended license. I was still given an $800 citation for OWI. Is that legal if my .07 is what goes on record? What will a lawyer do for me? Could my ticket be thrown out?
You really need to consult a local Wisdconsin lawyer as to your viable defenses. Wisconsin employs differing...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 69,941 • Total comments across all topics: 241,862,728
Copyright © 2014 Topix LLC