96°F | 68°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Sun-Valley, CA or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Sun-Valley People Search
I was recently arrested in California for a DUI and I am moving back to Texas in a matter of two months. I blew a BAC of .14 but passed all the field sobriety tests and was only initially pulled over because my registration was out. I want to know if its suggested to get an attorney and if it is possible for the punishment( comm. service, DUI classes etc) to be completed in Texas. I am also applying for graduate programs soon and want to know if that will affect that, and if so should I look into having my record expunged? With me moving would I still be required to have the Ignition Interlock device placed in my vehicle??
Yes, it is highly suggested you obtain an attorney, especially if you are moving soon. You can use Avvo's Find a Lawyer...
I got probation for driving without a valid license. I never got a probation officer since it wasn't necessary. My probation was for 24 months which is supposed to end this month. Do I need to take any kind of paperwork to court or should just assume that they closed my probation? I want to mention that I didn't have any problems during my probation.
No. Congrats. You are done. You may, however, want to confirm that the court sees things the same way as you do by...
I have a dui in california but i m moving to reno nevada and i need to know how to transfer the case
already been to court and got three months classes but if i stay incalifornia im homeless and the only shot i have for myself is a job in reno
It usually depends on the judge, but most judges don't have a problem converting the class to a different state. At...
So upon sentencing of my 3rd DUI in VNCH, my sentencing required 137 days jail ( i did 2 days) 104 AA classes and 257$ fine.
I have completed all. My attorney stated that since i already completed 18 months of Alcohol education on my prior, the was no req. for it on this case, nor was it stated on my sentencing sheet. I just called DMV, MAU and the lady, stated my license is revoked for 3 years which i know, when i asked what can i do to get it reinstated, she said 12 months of an 18 month Alcohol class, when i said my terms and attorney stated i didn't need to, She says,'Either do it or DON'T" (someone didn't get laid i guess) and hung up. I called my Alcohol class and they are sending me my completion on the second DUI showing i finished my 18 months. What are my options at this point? Any help would be greatly appreciated, the attorneys on this board are so knowledgeable. Thank you and GOD BLESS.
The DMV and the court are two separate things. In order to get a license back, the DMV can require you to do things...
Received a "Los Angeles County Jail booking and property record" pink sheet that shows an arraign date of 7/14/14. Attend?
This was a sheet that was filled out and given after being booked for suspicion of DUI. This pink piece of paper outlines personal belongings at time of booking. It shows a date 7/14/14 8:30 AM at a court for arraign date. At the time of release from an overnight stay at Los Angeles County Jail, a yellow DUI ticket was issued with a court appearance date in October. There is confusion to know if it is still a requirement to go to the date specified on the pink sheet which shows 7/14/14, or if its just mandatory to go to the date specified on the yellow ticket. If anyone can please help and write about what it means for this arraign date? Thank You!
When were you arrested. The October date seems right if you were released. Ask your attorney.
I have been charged with a DUI in Van Nuys and refused all the tests. I was arrested, booked, bail was set at 15k.
After spending the night in jail, I was released without having to post bail. I am aware of the DMV proceedings. My question pertains to the court proceedings. After about 3 weeks of my arrest, my attorney (also, a close friend with no experience, representing me for free) made the first appearance for me before the court after which she informed me that the judge ordered AA meetings 2 times a week for the DURATION of my case. How often is this seen? Is the Van Nuys court more strict on refusals? Any answers are very much appreciated.
All courts tried to order AA for years but his was found to be unconstitutional because they are religiously based....
I am in the three month program and just got expelled for missing 21 days. However, there was a holiday. I only missed twice and that is allowed. I don't know what to do now. Can the school reinstate me or do I need to go to court? My license was not affected by my DUI, but the courts punishment was 3 month DUI class and 3 years informal probation.
You should call the court that sentenced you. The Judge will want to see you and you will need to give a good response....
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 67,787 • Total comments across all topics: 243,881,876
Copyright © 2014 Topix LLC