3°F | -1°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Plymouth, MN or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Plymouth People Search
Got charged with 3rd degree dui for not taking breathalyser test. had dui 12 years ago. is being charged as first . penalties?
was sober over ten years. have been struggling for couple months. going back to meetings now. was coming home from work parked at a park by my house(so i could walk home)and drank in car. got busted in car with car parked. but i don't think that matters at all under law.
Your charge is a gross misdemeanor and does not carry mandatory jail time, although some prosecutors will initially ask...
DUI in GA, 1989. Jumped through all the hoops and left the state in 1990. Have held a valid DL ever since but when I went to renew in August 2012, I find out that GA screwed everything up and suspended my DL in 1990. They claim I owe them 20 hour DUI class (did it) and a drug/alcohol evaluation (did it) plus a reinstatement fee of over $200. Of that, all I did not do was the reinstatement fee because my DL was not suspended by the judge. How could I have held a DL for all these years, gotten tickets, was arrested in 2007 but never did my license come up suspended until now? I need to know how to make this go away. I cannot renew my DL, nor can I get a gov't issued ID until I clean it up. Please advise....
Minnesota Department of Public Safety will respect and enforce whatever status is in Georgia. The problem should be...
I was charged with a 3rd degree DWI - (Blew .20) What are penalties for a 1st time offender realistically? (Hennepin County)
Car was impounded and plates were removed before I picked it up the next day. I did not have to go to jail that night. Blew .20. Trying to figure out what I will have to do when court comes. I don't have a ton of money and have talked to a few lawyers. Everyone says I just need a public defender. I am trying to possibly get it reduced to a misdemeanor vs. gross. Any private lawyers ever accept payment plans? Also, should I get a chemical assessment now or wait for it to be ordered? Thank you for your time!
There are many private attorneys that accept payment plans and most will take payment by credit card as well. If you...
If my criminal DUI charges are reduced to careless driving but I am still convicted of the implied consent violation, will the implied consent conviction show up on background checks for future employment? I am about to graduate with my MBA and am concerned about getting a job because I have an implied consent conviction on my record, even though my criminal was pled down.
The implied consent revocation is not a "conviction" on your criminal record and it won't show up there at all. It is...
I am a first time offender and had a BAC of .13, so I believe I will qualify for the one day DWI program. If I do this will this be in place of other fines, etc? What are the advantages and disadvantages? When do I ask to be a part of the program? Before I am convicted, do I ,mention it to the public defender before meeting with the Judge?
The One Day Program is a typical requirement in first time offenses, and usually the court will sentence you to do it...
I was arrested in Saint Louis Park MN for DWI and blew a .13. This is my first offense. I am a high school teacher and do not work in the Saint Louis Park distirict or in Hennepin county. Do I need to notify my school district of my arrest or if I am convicted, do I need to tell them? I have been a teacher for 8 years and had my background checked at that time and do not anticipate another background check form them.
Your teaching contract or CBA probably specifies that you are required to disclose any arrests, but check that document...
1st DWI with high BAC. BAC was close to being misdemeanor. I know I will be told it is not smart to represent myself but I have no choice. I financially can not afford a private lawyer. Will I be able to discuss this with the prosecutor before hand to determine what will happen if I do plead guilty? I am not trying to fight this as I know what I did wrong. I would like to minimize penalties. Or is there a way to prolong court until I do have the money in two months to hire a private lawyer?
What county are we talking? That help answer your questions.
Comments made yesterday: 73,028 • Total comments across all topics: 228,555,637
Copyright ©2013 Topix LLC