Palo Alto Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Palo Alto, CA or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Palo Alto Law

How long does a writ for DMV DUI take from end to end?
I lost at the DMV hearing for a DUI. I believe the hearing officer has made a mistake in his decision. I am considering to file a writ and would like to get a gauge on how long the whole process would take end to end - from the filing of writ to getting a stay to the writ decision by the judge.
6 months to a year in Orange County.
Is there a possibility that I can have DUI charges dropped?
I am 18, in California. Last night, I got pulled over because an officer saw people drinking in the backseat (is this a valid reason to pull me over?). I was asked to step out of the car and preform a few tests, which I thought I passed, and then told to blow in to a breathalyzer. I blew a .07, a .01, and a .07 (this includes the 2 tests administered on the street, and the test at the police station). I was handcuffed and put into the back of the car, where I was left ALONE for about 5-10 minutes before being driven back to the station. Does this violate the 15 minute mandatory observation period? I am interested in finding out what you believe will come of this case? Will I be convicted? I understand all cases are different, but Im curious how things have turned out in similar cases
Sorry to hear about your situation. It's not possible to know if you will be convicted or know the outcome of your case...
DUI CA, 18 YRS OLD. Interested in your opinion on this case
I am 18, in California. Last night, I got pulled over because an officer saw people drinking in the backseat (is this a valid reason to pull me over?). I was asked to step out of the car and preform a few tests, which I thought I passed, and then told to blow in to a breathalyzer. I blew a .07, a .01, and a .07 (this includes the 2 tests administered on the street, and the test at the police station). I was handcuffed and put into the back of the car, where I was left ALONE for about 5-10 minutes before being driven back to the station. Does this violate the 15 minute mandatory observation period? I am interested in finding out what you believe will come of this case? Will I be convicted? I understand all cases are different, but Im curious how things have turned out in similar cases
You should hire an attorney to review all possible legal defenses in your case. It is a violation of VC 23222(a) to...
Is it common to get a .09 breath test DUI reduced to a Wet and reckless charge? Perfect record no other citations?
College Student. Passed the FST tests.....was processed and released in 45 minutes. Event occurred in Palo Alto. Good student and a student athlete. What are the chances of reducing this DUI?
Common? No. Possible? Absolutely, depending on a variety of factors. Consult some lawyers and see if they think your...
How to modify or change a plea bargain in a dui?
I under extreme pressure of two jobs agreed to a plea bargain after I negotiated Work Release Program days down. What I did not take into affect was the IId requested for a year. I work in a large corporation where my exact position requires me to drive my car, clients to what is called ride a longs for outdoor advertising. This is pertinent for my employment. I made the court appeal date within the allotted 30 days and read at the SCU Law Library that a plea bargain can be modified within the exact wording of the plea bargain. I do not need to change the sentencing but rather the exact punishment. If I owed the court $5 pay them in $4 dollar ones and 4 quarters. Same $5 but a different delivery of the punishment. Is this doable?
I'm confused as to what you are seeking. Are you wanting to modify the terms of probation? Withdraw your plea? Please...
I was driving on a suspended license and accidentally drove threw turn while it was yellow turning red and got flashed.
What am i to expect? could this violate my suspension or does it work more like a toll in the sense where theres just a fine? I'm scared, any insight would be helpful.
There is a chance that you will be charged with driving on a suspended license, Vehicle Code section 14601. It is a...
Do I have to pay CHP a $1650 charge two and a half years after a DUI?
I was convicted of a DUI two and a half years ago and recently received a bill in the mail from CHP attempting to collect $1650 from me for costs associated with their time and my incarceration. Two cars were involved in a traffic collision, no parties were injured or taken to the hospital. The road did require clean up from collision. The paper from CHP does not even state the correct City where the incident took place (states Redwood City, it was Palo Alto). What is the best response and how do I avoid paying it? I don't have the funds; I filed Chapter 7 a year ago.
Demand more specifics including tike spent and fees. The bankrupcy may not relieve you of this bill