47°F | 34°F
East Village Crime
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near East Village (New York, NY) or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
East Village People Search
East Village Law
Looking for a DUI attorney in the Montgomery County Pennsylvania area, that accepts weekly/monthly payment plans.
I am being charged with my 4th dui in Montgomery County Pennsylvania. As well as driving without an ignition interlock. I am not concerned with the fines that will follow as much as I am avoiding jail time. I do not know if this matters at all but I live out of state in Albany, NY. I have 4 kids to support so staying out of jail is a huge concern to me and my family. I have just recently returned to work after a few months of being absent, so I do not have money saved up to afford an attorney outright. I am this week going back to full time which I make about 700 a week. I did refuse the chemical test so I am sure that this is going to be charged in the 3rd tier as .16 or above. I have seen multiple options in my research such as drug court, alcohol court and the IPP program.
You posted on the New York Avvo page. I suggest you re-post on the PA Avvo page or use the Find A Lawyer tab.
2 years ago i plead guilty to a DWI charge in which the officer lied about numerous things. I plead to the charge because I was told it is impossible to fight a violation of probation. I have recently learned that if the charges were dropped, the VOP would have been dismissed as well. I am very disturbed that my attorney told me this especially that the officer lied about numerous things and it says on the arrest report that there is video of the arrest. I am thinking of appealing the matter and possibly suing the lawyer. I have since called the attorneys firm with the matter and they more or less told me that the lawyer was completely in the wrong without admitting any fault. I have been told that with the evidence of the officer lying that the case would have been thrown out immediately.
You should first look for counsel to review all your post-conviction relief options.
The indictment is vehicular assault. The offer is to serve the sentence, and if no violations you wind up with DUI. If there are violations the vehicular assault.goes on your record permanently. I can't figure out how this setup works. Which charge do you plea to initially? Is the sentence based on the vehicular assault or the DUI? (In this case jail won't be applied for either one.) It is NOT the interim plea thing. It's a compromise between a dui & a vehicular assault charge. Similar to when a DUI is switched to reckless after the term is served if served successfully. I've asked here before, but can't seem to ask in a way that's clear enough to get the information that tells me if it's 3years or 5 years. Thanks.
If the final charge is a felony then probation is 5 years. If the final charge is a Class A misdemeanor then probation...
I had a DWAI conviction in 2008 and just (2013) received a failure to submit to a chemical test. I will be accepting a DWI charge. My understanding is if I have had a conditional lic in the past 5 years I can not get one following this charge. However, I have pulled my MVR and it only shows a hardship lic was issued and then my lic was fully restored after guilty plea to the first ticket. in 2008. Would my MVR show if a conditional lic was issued and because it does not am I eligible for one now?
If you refused a chemical test in 2013 and the administrative law judge makes that ruling at the refusal hearing, you...
I had a DWI of .08 in new York about 9 years ago and about 2 months ago I was arrested in Pennsylvania for DUI. They're saying I'm on my second DWI now and I'm facing 3 months to 5 years for 2nd offense. How is this right? I've never been in trouble in Pennsylvania before.
Yes...it can be used to enhance your case there. The same would be true in NY. Joseph A. Lo Piccolo, Esq. Past...
What will the repercussions be on my career in the merchant marine if convicted of a misdemeanor first offense dwi?
In Mid July I was charged with a misdemeanor offense of driving while intoxicated in the state of North Carolina after blowing a .11. This was my first dui offense and have only 1 minor speeding ticket to date. I am a New York State resident and currently employed as an engineer in the merchant marine sailing under my Third Assistant Unlimited Engine license. My questions arise in the confusion with lack of direct answers and interpretation of the code of federal regulations on what is to come with my license. If convicted will I be required to report this event to the Coast Guard or will it show up when i go to renew or upgrade? What will the repercussions be against my livelihood? Suspension? Revocation? Thank you for your time.
This is a question best directed to the Merchant Marine. Without knowing, my best guess is that you will have an...
Thursday I was arrested at a traffic stop and charged with A-DWI in Yorkville, NY. I blew .20 at the police station.
A family friend is a CO in town, and called in a favor to reduce the charge to a "Common Law" DWI. I am wondering if I should accept this deal (which means no jail time, but still remains the fine, misdemeanor, and being reduced to a conditional license for 6 months, and installation of ignition interlock in my car), or if I should hire an attorney to try to get it reduced further. I have no criminal record and no moving violations on my vehicle - this is the first legal trouble I have ever been in. I know I made a huge mistake and I know I have to pay for it, but I'm afraid of carrying this for the rest of my life and never being able to live my life the same again. I am only 26 years old and was planning on a career change soon.
A DWI is a serious offense. You should have an attorney represent you on this.
Ads by Glam
Comments made yesterday: 74,156 • Total comments across all topics: 228,562,790
Copyright ©2013 Topix LLC