Madison Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Madison, FL or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Madison Law

My brother just finished a trial and no evidence was provided. The state didn't have no blood work and the officer didn't perform any field tests on my brother on the night he wrecked his car. He received 5 years of probation and 30 days in jail for this. Is this fair? Can they convict him even though they didn't have any evidence? Also, for the first offense, isn't the punishment to steep? Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Also, he wasn't arrested at all but was sent to the hospital; they didn't draw any blood from him.
If the trial has ended, it is obvious he can be charged with the offense. If he received 5 years of probation, then he...
. I've not yet retained an attorney but this isn't my first rodeo. I know you can probably count actual DUI trials on one hand, but if you have seen someone go to trial and lose -- what sentences are typically imposed? I guess the meat of this post is "My plea seems bad enough, is it that much worse to be found guilty of DUI at trial?" Do guilty DUI defendants typically receive just jail time if they endure a trial, or do they get jail time + all the conditions of a plea bargain (probation, car impound, dui school, etc). Or is the Plea Bargain really a great deal considering the slim-to-nill chance at beating the charge in a trial, and the loss of freedom that would lead to job loss. Admin suspension sustained, so DUI School II, anyway--finally"not guilty" trial = reverse DMV ruling?
The severity of your sentence after trial will depend on the judge and any aggravating facts associated with your case....
I have a 13 year clean driving record. This is my first ticket. I know I was not speeding and what to contest this in court. My ticket is for $75 for driving: "unlawful speed at 27 mph in a posted 15 mph zone. The offense charged is F.S.S 316.187. I want to know if I will get points on my license and what does this F.S.S. 316.187 code mean? The officer said he clocked me on a radar. Where can I found that information on the ticket? Also, will I have a chance getting this ticket dismissed in court? Thanks!
316.187 is the statute you are accused of violating. In this case, speeding. You could get points on your license....
I had a very bad night I don't do drugs or anything like that I just messed up and had a drink is there any possible way to get my license back without having it suspended I really need it to go to work and school
There's a couple of possible things in play here, and your question doesn't really give us a lot to work with: A...
I got a DUI in Ohio October 1997. Came back to Florida before my trial and my license was subsequently suspended. In 2000 I flew up to Ohio and paid a fine and a reinstatement fee, then returned to Florida. In 2011 I get a call from Barberton Municipal Courts saying I had a bench warrant. I told them I took care of the DUI in 2000 and they said I only took care of the state of Ohio and not the city of Barberton. I fly back up to Ohio in Jan. 2015 go before the Judge and plead guilty. He has me do a three day program and suspends my license but retro-acted the suspension back to 1997 . I come back to Florida get my license back. Done right? No. Got a letter today from Florida saying my license is suspended for 6 months. How can they do this for something that did not happen here? Thanks,
Florida does not allow nun pro tunc suspensions. That means suspension for six months started Jan 2015. Good luck.
I was convicted of first dui in May of 2011. My name was misspelt on my court documents and I just got arrested on 2nd dui on February 2015. Is my first conviction going to show up with the court system or will it show up with only the dmv. My 2nd arrest ticket shows first offense.
More than likely YES. The reason is that since you had a prior "encounter" with law enforcement you now have a DOC...
I was charged with a dui in my own yard with the vehicle off but the keys were in the ignition and i was sitting in the driver's seat. My 2 year old son was not in the vehicle but eyewitnesses told the officer that i arrived there with my son not in a car seat. But the officer did not witness this for himself.
You can be charged with both crimes. Whether the state can prove the case beyond a reasonable doubt at a trial, that is...