68°F | 45°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Lakewood (Jacksonville, FL) or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Lakewood People Search
What do you call the new law that can avoid a DUI conviction if you are first offender? Legal Name? criminal traffic law
I know there is a new law/statue in Florida that if you are a license driver and receive a first offence driving under the influence you can be eligible to avoid conviction granted other circumstances apply. What is the official name of this? It was passed very recently in 2013. Thank you. (criminal traffic offence)
Its not a law. Its a creation of the Miami-Dade County State Attorney's Office. It is a diversionary program...
I was charged with a 3rd DUI in October. The previous one was 24 years ago. My bond was $5000.I told an officer I had enough
on my debit card to get a bondsman and bond out. The judge who I went before, I had met at a bar a few months back set my bond at $ 10000. Is that a typical amount. I was on a diabetic medicine meteformin and had not eaten. I pulled on to the road and drove 5 feet realized something wasn't right. I stopped and backed back into the parking lot and parked. The policeman then pulled in and arrested me. I didn't take field sobriety tests and didn't blow. After they gave me pancakes and syrup my blood level went to 346. Do I have a case? I have court on February 6. Public defender offered me 4k fine 4 months scram 1 year DL suspension vehicles immobilized and breath machine on vehicles for 2 year s. Help. I was parking my car because I new I had a medical situation.
Not withstanding your excellent proffer, your PD is the only lawyer ion the planet who is intimate and familiar enough...
What is the typical wait period for the blood alcohol results in palm beach county? What is typical time for DA to possibly prosecute? Next steps.....already contacted attorney
A few months is normal especially if the accident did not result in injuries or death as those cases get priority. It...
Hi, I live in Texas, and was convicted of a 4th DWI (1st felony) about a year and a half ago. I was sentenced to 5 years felony probation. I've already completed many requirements of my probation including a year of DWI court and a victim impact course. For business purposes, I will be transferring my probation to Fort Myers, FL in about a year. How militant is the probation department there? Will I be required to perform constant UA tests (as is the case in Texas)? Also, I would like to be able to travel out of state, and also out of the country (my wife lives in Europe)? Would FL work with me on this? Last, would it be possible to terminate my probation early in FL (this isn't possible in Texas) after a certain period time with good behavior? And if not, get on mail in probation? Thanks
In FL you can be UA'd every single day of your probationary period. Doing so is almost unheard of, but remains legally...
My daughter's boyfriend was ordered to get an interlock system. He doesn't own a car. Can he have it installed on my daughter's
He doesn't intend to drive her car but in order to get his life back on track and get his license again one day, he is required to install an interlock on his car for one year. Can he have it installed on my daughter's car even though his name is not on the title or the registration? Any advice would be appreciated.
The requirement can be waived if he does not own or drive a car - but it cannot be waived until after his probationary...
I was on probation for driving while intoxicated, I left the state to move with my family, basically to avoid being homeless
I want to know if this charge could be changed to a felony based on the fact that I just up and left? I am struggling to get my license back due to this and I would like some advice on what to do. Im very nervous to contact the city I was on probation in because I dont want them to know where I am so they dont send someone to come get me, or contact the county I am in and have them come pick me up. I moved to better my life as well and I have done just that. Im a father now and I live a very honest and peaceful life. What should I do?
The charge cannot be changed to a felony if the charge you plead to was not a felony. You will face the maximum...
Lee County didn't give me my RSAT certificate because the judge let me out of the program one day early.
I spent six months in the Lee County jail and attended the RSAT program the whole time. Two days before my scheduled release, I went before the judge as everyone has to. I had been doing so well and the judge was so pleased with my progress, he let me out two days before my scheduled release. Because I was let out early, I didn't receive my completion certificates because they said I missed finishing the program by one day. Is there anything I can do to get these certificates? I really put in a lot of effort into the program and am proud of my accomplishments there. I don't think it's right to deny me my certificate because the judge let me out two days early.
This sounds unfair to me as well, BUT I am way clear on the fact that the jail system operates independently of the...
Comments made yesterday: 63,124 • Total comments across all topics: 234,026,013
Copyright © 2014 Topix LLC