39°F | 25°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Hancock, NY or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Hancock People Search
I had a DUI arrest in Florida but the charge was dropped to a reckless. First offense. Can I get it sealed?
Relevant details were the initial charge that I left the scene of an accident when I was stopped by the police. There was no accident and I subsequently refused the breathalizer test.
The laws regarding sealing differ from state to state. As I am not admitted in Florida, I researched this for you....
If on my first Court appearance for DWI in New York State-(1st time offence ever) I request Assigned counsel and get approved - You say judge generally arraigns defendant and enters a plea of not guilty automatically even with no counsel avaiable. does this mean I lose my license on first court appearance even if I'm requesting Assigned counsel? Will I need to find ride the minute I leave court?
The judge can suspend without an attorney OR he can adjourn a few days for you to get an attorney. They will generally...
At my first court appearance ( arraignment) can I request an adjournment of arraignment to get a public defender( since I can't
New York - At my first court appearance ( arraignment) can I request an adjournment of arraignment to get a public defender( since I can't afford a lawyer) ? . And if so do I make a plea in Not guilty to the charger at that appearance? Do I request adjournment before Judge reads charges? My 1st appearance in 3 days from now do I call court office clerk prior to my 1st court date and tell them? I need to understand court process - can someone help? Just trying to get answers - consulted with Lawyers just scared and want to know more details of process since I'm going to court alone for arraignment in 3 days can't secure lawyer - too expensive. I want to confer with Assistant DA but - maybe I should consult with public defender first - so How do I request this and ask to adjourn arraignment to get counsle-
You do not consult w/the DA or judge. When you get there, tell the court officer or clerk you don't have and cannot...
My friend received a driver license suspension notice in the mail. He went to Town Court to find out why. Apparently this is from 2001. He got a DWI, was on probation, failed to pay his fine, spent weekends in jail. They revoked his license back then. He got license back in 2005. Why was this not found back then? He would not have been let off probation without paying his fine. He has nothing to prove he paid it back then. Should he speak with a lawyer?
Greetings: There is no statute of limitations. Your friend should consider speaking with a lawyer. I would start...
Looking for a DUI attorney in the Montgomery County Pennsylvania area, that accepts weekly/monthly payment plans.
I am being charged with my 4th dui in Montgomery County Pennsylvania. As well as driving without an ignition interlock. I am not concerned with the fines that will follow as much as I am avoiding jail time. I do not know if this matters at all but I live out of state in Albany, NY. I have 4 kids to support so staying out of jail is a huge concern to me and my family. I have just recently returned to work after a few months of being absent, so I do not have money saved up to afford an attorney outright. I am this week going back to full time which I make about 700 a week. I did refuse the chemical test so I am sure that this is going to be charged in the 3rd tier as .16 or above. I have seen multiple options in my research such as drug court, alcohol court and the IPP program.
You posted on the New York Avvo page. I suggest you re-post on the PA Avvo page or use the Find A Lawyer tab.
2 years ago i plead guilty to a DWI charge in which the officer lied about numerous things. I plead to the charge because I was told it is impossible to fight a violation of probation. I have recently learned that if the charges were dropped, the VOP would have been dismissed as well. I am very disturbed that my attorney told me this especially that the officer lied about numerous things and it says on the arrest report that there is video of the arrest. I am thinking of appealing the matter and possibly suing the lawyer. I have since called the attorneys firm with the matter and they more or less told me that the lawyer was completely in the wrong without admitting any fault. I have been told that with the evidence of the officer lying that the case would have been thrown out immediately.
You should first look for counsel to review all your post-conviction relief options.
The indictment is vehicular assault. The offer is to serve the sentence, and if no violations you wind up with DUI. If there are violations the vehicular assault.goes on your record permanently. I can't figure out how this setup works. Which charge do you plea to initially? Is the sentence based on the vehicular assault or the DUI? (In this case jail won't be applied for either one.) It is NOT the interim plea thing. It's a compromise between a dui & a vehicular assault charge. Similar to when a DUI is switched to reckless after the term is served if served successfully. I've asked here before, but can't seem to ask in a way that's clear enough to get the information that tells me if it's 3years or 5 years. Thanks.
If the final charge is a felony then probation is 5 years. If the final charge is a Class A misdemeanor then probation...
Comments made yesterday: 75,741 • Total comments across all topics: 228,570,442
Copyright ©2013 Topix LLC