43°F | 27°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Damascus, VA or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
My first violation was three years ago.iv completed 7 years of my ten years of probation. Just wanna know if I'm looking at a long time in jail? Any help would be great
The amount of any jail associated with a probation violation is up to the Judge hearing the matter. With this being...
Options on Vasap program. Can Adsap class from a differnt state be considered? my options may be. VASAP is VA , ADSAP is SC,
dui in VA in 1997.Now I had lived back an forth from differnt states as a teenagers and had a DL in Sc before I ever had a VA DL.Now, when my suspen time was up SC allowed me to take the ADSAP PROGRAM,& make a Sc driver License. carried sr22 , the whole thingLIKE 2003.. Passed class w/ no problems etc. Now I knew I wouldnt be able to Drive In the state of VA until i got some other matters cleard up.They were just traffic tickets &court costs that never got paid.& I was told VA dmv still will need there re-instaement fees etc. as which they should. Now yrs later now2011.all my fines an old court cost in Va is paid.But lady at court says i still need 2take vasap.long story short.COULD I PETENTION COURT TO DROP THE VASAP PART? SINCE ITS BEEN 10PLUS YRS.& IVE HAD NO MORE DUI& I COMPLETED ADSAP
You should seek counsel for this issue. Your facts are complicated and somewhat incomplete. In 1997, VA law required...
DUI in 2012. Recently Missouri sent me notice of Driver's License Suspension 30 days - What should I expect in Virginia?
DUI in 2012 in Missouri, received 2yr probation. Missouri violated me for minor traffic infraction. Paid fine. Yesterday, Missouri sends me a notice of 30 day driver's license suspension - 3 years after offense. Is Virginia going to suspend my license for a year?! For out-of-state DUIs you have the right to petition the court. I'm pretty sure I would be eligible for restricted but looking for guidance. Also I have completed intensive outpatient treatment and been sober for years now.
All states are supposed to honor each other's suspensions, so Virginia is supposed to suspend you. You may ask for a...
I've had something that's been bothering me for a while. To make a long story short, I went out with a friend for karaoke, met a European guy who seemed very nice and kept buying me drinks. When my coworker left, he offered to drive me. Since he rode with friends, I let him take my car. I wasn't aware of how drunk he may have been, and he not only wrecked my car, but he left me at the scene and told me not to say anything because of something about being deported. I wasn't sure what he meant or what was going on, so I stayed and ended up getting charged and convicted of the 1st DUI because I was at the scene, and the car was registered to me. I've had a perfectly clean record. I never said I was driving, but my mistake according to the judge is saying I didn't drive. What do I do?
If it has been more than ten days since the general district Court trial, you learn the lesson to not take...
My husband was arrested for DUI, went to trial, paid all fines. He completed the sentencing required. My question is he has a out of state license (he is in the military). He has all documentation that was needed to have his restricted license. We received a letter in the mail saying that he is not licensed and cannot drive. He received a restricted license from the judge. He paid the reinstatement fee of $200 at the DMV for his out of state license.
You question hinges on what state is telling him he is licensed and can not drive. If it is his home state, then he...
DWI, first offense in Henrico County. No record really other than a few traffic incidents not involving alcohol.
I blew a .084 and I got pulled over for speeding 65/45. They drove me to detain me and then I blew a .14 the second time at the sheriff's office. I have never had a DWI/DUI, what are the chances of the DWI getting dismissed and what should be my next step?
The prosecutors don't just reduce or dismiss DUIs unless there are issues with the case. So now is the time to consult...
I have 2 prior offenses for driving without a license and due to inability to pay off fines my license was suspended by DMV and I was given a third ticket after driving again this time for driving on a suspended lisence. I have a public defender but I have not been able to speak with him because he is near impossible to get a hold of. I am a mother of 2 children and 8 months pregnant with my third. Due to finding out my husband is married to another woman and having to find a new ace to live and basically starting my entire life over as a single mother while being unemployed I have not been able to pay fines or get my license reinstated and I need to avoid jail at all costs as there is no one to take care of my children except myself. Any advice would be helpful at this point I am desperat
Yes, you might be sentenced to jail for this offense. If you are found guilty that means it was proven that you knew...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 41,867 • Total comments across all topics: 254,320,089
Copyright © 2015 Topix LLC