77°F | 58°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Colfax, CA or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Can you get a DUI after an auto accident if not ticket or arrest was made?
2 days ago my daughter rolled her car. She had been drinking (2 beers she says) prior--she is legal drinking age. She had injuries that required an ER visit. The officer on site did field sobriety (no breathalyzer) & kept her license. He told her she did "fine" on the tests. She never saw the police officer again but he kept her license. She had treatment and tests done at the ER & was released home with no ticket & no information as to what to do next. Can she still get a DUI? Who should she contact about the next step or getting her license back.
If she is found responsible for the accident, I believe she can still be cited and charged for DUI. Best bet is to...
I was arrested in California for my 2nd dui with a BAC of .14. My first was nine years ago. From the time I was arrested to now, my wife and I have moved to Washington and I want to know if I will still have to do jail time, and how it affects my drivers license in Washington. My wife is soon to deliver our second child and I would really prefer not to be in jail when she goes into labor.
You should retain an experienced attorney right away.
I received a felony DUI conviction at 21, and five years later, I'm wondering what are my options?
I received five DUIS in around one year of time, at the age of 21. I was sentenced to 16 months in state prison, however did all my time in jail since I was a non-violent offender. After jail, I enrolled full-time in community college and have been working towards my AA in Psychology and hopefully will transfer to a UC. I was not able to obtain employment following the felony conviction, and thus, have not made any payments to the courts. I owe multiple courts money and had no way of paying, however I know this is likely not a valid enough reason. Honestly I'm afraid of going to court and being taken into custody for non-payment, but I have to try to resolve this in some way if i ever hope to be licensed as a Psychologist. No payment=NO HOPE for expungement? Do I have any options?
I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but you have no options but to pay. You cannot go to jail for non-payment. Since...
I was arrested for a DUI last year the officer stated I refused a chemical test but is missing pages from report, appeal?
I was taken to a hospital after being approached for DUI, I refused a blood test but submitted a breath test and officer informed me their device was nonoperational, I would not submit to second test with a PAS device. A DS-367 form I did complete officer sent DMV resulting in suspension of my licence but pages 2-3 were missing from DS-367....... DO I HAVE A CASE
Have you requested the DMV hearing within 10 days of the arrest if you did not you're probably out of luck as far as...
I got charged with a DUI in PA with a CA id on me. Now CA DMV suspended my licence. Why?
I completed the PA ARD program and got my charges expunged. Why does the CA DMV still require me to take classes and get an SR22 to get my licence back?
Because that's what the CA DMV does. Sorry. You'll have to follow their demands. They learned of the conviction and...
I received a ticket for driving on a suspended license from a DUI. What can I do to stay out of jail?
I lost my job a few months ago because I was in jail for the DUI. I am hopefully starting a job next week, but that is dependent on me not going back to jail for this offense. What is my best course of action in this situation?
Locate an experienced criminal defense lawyer in your area, who specializes their practice in DUI DEFENSE, make an...
Got a DUI, What's my time-frame for getting my license back? DMV told me something odd...
I got arrested for a DUI on August 8th, 2014. I blew a .14 and got my license taken from me. I was given a temporary 30 day license. My court date was set for September 8th. I was given a First Time Defender if I pleaded no contest. I was forced by my mom to request a continuance for October 20th. 10/20/14 I accepted the deal and was given $2100 in fines, 3month dui class, and 1 day sheriff's work. I've already attended 1 of my classes. When I contacted the DMV Mandatory Actions Unit today they told me I need an SR-22 on file and to install an IID, and then I can come in and pay a fee for my restricted license immediately. But they told me I won't get my normal license back until 3/9/15. Seems too long. When exactly did my suspension start? August 8th, September 8th, or October 20th?
You actually have two suspensions. Anyone accused of driving 0.08% or above faces an administrative action by DMV to...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 41,611 • Total comments across all topics: 255,476,177
Copyright © 2015 Topix LLC