34°F | 30°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Cheyney, PA or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
I was charged with DUI in PA 2 months ago. I will probably take the ARD program deal. My license was not suspended at the time of arrest and probably not be suspended as my bac was 0.081. I checked my driving history and it does not show the DUI arrest. I am wondering if it will show anything if I get into this program. Will the court inform DMV about my dui if I get into the ARD program ?
I am not licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania. My understanding is that the ARD program acts to bar the record...
If i got a ticket for driving under the influence of alcohol, in another state, can I just go to court and plead guilty, an pay?
I live in Louisiana and got the ticket for DWI in Pennsylvania. Thank you in advance.
You can plead guilty and pay the fine associated with a traffic citation. However, being charged with a DUI involves...
When person is held in contempt of court can they get a reconsideration and if so how much does it cost?
Dui case that he beat but the cops said that when he got to the holding sell he refuse the blood test .he didn't refused because they never asked him to take a blood test he has been fighting this for a year
Hard to answer unless there are more facts. Why was he held in contempt? Sometimes a judge will set a purge amount to...
I got a DUI when I was 19 with a BAC of .07 and did ARD. I got another DUI in may of 2014 and it was tier 2 2nd offense. I could not afford a lawyer so I had to use the public defender and it was a huge mess. I am the sole provider of my 3 year old son. I have a 3 year PFA against his dad, that includes my son on it. I asked for house arrest instead of jail for the mandatory 30 days and they refused. Bucks County later said that they would have done house arrest if they case would have been transfered to them. Since I have already been sentenced in Philly, is there anyway to get transfered?
Very doubtful. However, contact a lawyer in the jurisdiction in which you were sentenced, and maybe he can try to do a...
My first DUI was in 2012 in Montgomery County and my probation just ended May 2014. But i got charged with a 2nd DUI on Thanksgiving of this year (2014). I'm just scared because i'm graduating May 2015 and I want to get employed to a good company. I also work to pay my own rent and bills so I don't want to lose my license or go to jail. I'm not positive, but i think my BAC will be between .08 and .09. Please if anyone can help i would appreciate it. Also, are police officers allowed to make you take off glasses when doing field tests?
A 2nd DUI within 10 years is an ungraded misdemeanor with a mandatory jail sentence of 5 days to 6 months. There is...
waiting to hear back regarding the toxicology report. This report has been out since Mid June. Is it safe to assume no news is good news? I was told from some people in the field that if it was dirty, it would have come back quickly. I haven't heard from the police department and assuming they do not notify you if the results were negative. However, I'm under the impression they have a year to charge. I checked last month with the police department which would have been after 5 months and they said the test didn't come back yet and when it does they will let me know...
Philadelphia may be different, but usually you would be arrested and charged and the tests would then be sent out. If...
How do I get an underage drinking citation off my record? The pending case has already been dismissed but has not been expunged.
I received an underage drinking citation in may/june and I got a lawyer to get it dismissed (plead not guilty and didn't get a license suspension. Unfortunately, I had to pay $1000 for the lawyer to represent me in front of the judge where she decided that I had to take alcohol classes at aldersgate and complete 20 hours of community service. I have finished all of it and the pending case has now been dismissed. However, my lawyer recently told me that if I want to get this expunged from my record I would have to pay another $1000. Is my only option to go with this lawyer? Could I possibly call up the court and ask them to expunge it myself or could I find a cheaper lawyer that could perform this task for me? I am 18 and I received the citation a month after I turned 18.
You can hire any lawyer you want to, but $1000 is probably no an unreasonable fee. You can attempt to pursue this on...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 70,386 • Total comments across all topics: 252,839,456
Copyright © 2015 Topix LLC