Canandaigua Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Canandaigua, NY or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Canandaigua Law

He got a dwi 15 years ago and one 8 years ago the one 8 years ago was a felony cause they were within 10 years of each
4 years in state prison.
This would be my second dui. My first one was in Florida my second I caught in ny under florida license. My conviction in ny was a dwai which is a traffic infraction, but Florida charged it as a DUI, misdemeanor and revoked my license for 5 years. Its been 5 years and I reside in ny now. I dont own a vehicle and florida is refusing to reinstate my license without a IID. I dont know how to get it waived considering the dwai and dui are two completely different charges and my BAC level doesnt qualify me for a IID. Please help
Many states (it seems FL is one of these states) do not have an equivalent charge to a NY DWAI, so they treat it in...
On an abstract they are both shown as convictions on the same date. These are both the same charge from what I understand just to a different level of severity.
This was posted in the personal injury section for some reason. Charges vary from state to state , but that BAC sounds...
The law had just changed on Jan-1,st five years ago, a dui with in ten years apart was considered a felny. I was just under the limt. I through away my copy of the arresting officer's hand written supporting deposisition .One of the officers asked me and the arresting officer for a copy of the dposn. The DA ;judge or my P D had a copy.After quite a while I felt I should not have,,, but I pled guilty. Things got confusion, I felt sure the most important thing in LAW was what was written onstone. My public defender was going to hand my case over to a ex DA who sed to me the deposision was very important . In between bad weather, a short three way conversation with ex DA and the investigator for the PD,I went before the Judge and pled guilty. one very GOOD thing of all this is four yrs sober
I don't understand a lot of what your are saying. A second dui within 10 of a dui conviction has been a felony for much...
This is my 2nd DWI in NY in 5 years and I am looking at a Class E felony. I already have had my license revoked and I am facing jail time. I blew a .28 which is aggravated, there is a witness testimony and video evidence and self admission. I know I am screwed and I know I have to face whatever charges I am brought to. I have had a great job for over 7 years. I've been attending college and I have been blessed to have been able to keep my job even though all of this is going on and my license is revoked. I have never had a felony in the past and I am in fear I will spend years in prison. I know if I go to trial I will lose given all the facts mentioned above. I am looking for an honest opinion and advice. I'd like a lawyer that actually cares for my future and not just my money.
You are probation eligible even if you plead to the felony. A lot depends on the attitude of the Judge and or the DA....
I moved from IL to NY and got a DWaI here. I paid all the fines, went to court, etc and it all ended here so I went to the DMV to get my license after the NY suspension period and IL had put a hold on my license. My question is what are my options? My license was expired and I paid the fine for driving without a valid license. Doesn't that mean I was driving without a license? How does IL have the right to punish me for something I did in another state without a license (the only connection to IL)? Should I get an OOS hearing packet and do that whole thing as it said on the Sec of State's website? Or is my only option trying to get it down to reckless driving? I don't want to go back to court so this is not really an option for me. Also can someone tell me if Im actually charged in IL now?
You need to repost this in the Illinois section as it sounds like clearing the Illinois hold will enable you to restore...
How can I get my driving privileges in NJ restored if the court ordered me to get an ignition interlock device but I don't own a car to put it on? I used to live in Clifton NJ which is where I got the DUI but I now live in New York and have a NY DL (have for a year). I paid my restoration fee in NJ and thought my license was restored but I got pulled over last night in NJ while driving a friends car for speeding and they said it wasn't restored and gave me a ticket for driving on a suspended license and careless driving- what kind of fees/charges am I looking at for this? PLEASE HELP
You should speak with an attorney admitted in NJ and practices vehicle and traffic law.