Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Brookfield, CT or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
If I had my first DUI 7 years ago and I just got another in RI and I refused breathalyzer, am I considered a first time offender
I was told that my first DUI would be taken off my record after I completed the alcohol program. Am I still considered a first time offender in CT if I got a DUI in RI recently? Do i face jail time with an out of state DUI?
I know Rhode Island is not as strict as Connecticut, contact a RI attorney, you may qualify for a program in Rhode...
I am a 57 yr old lady with 2 DUI ,that occurred nine months apart. Is it possible to seek early termination to return to SC?
I have gone and completed alcohol rehab ,MADD, and 100 hours of community service .I need to return to SC as I cannot find affordable housing in Stamford and other areas of CT. I live alone and want to be freed of the IID device on my car .What are my chances of early termination?
Probably would depend on how long your probation period is and how close you are to the end of that period.
Police admitted that they had a dash cam video of my dui arrest and subsequent search narcotics possession arrest.
My attorney immediately requested it or subpoena it and was told it was accidentally destroyed and is not available. Is that grounds for a motion to dismiss in Connecticut? Thanks
You should really be asking your attorney this question. They should be in a much better position to answer your...
Can a cop forcibly extract a motorist out of their car for refusing to step out when ordered to at a D.U.I checkpoint?
There is no smell of alcohol, nor any illegal contraband in plain view. The driver is simply exercising their right to not answer questions and would like to be left alone and travel without government seizure of movement.
Is this a hypothetical question or did this really happen? If it's a hypothetical, I would recommend rather that the...
no prior DUIs so this is a first, but on probation through the state supervision unit, no longer through local level. Will they violate and if so, is there a way to avoid jail?
You should set up a free consultation with a qualified DUI Defense attorney to discuss your case.
I don't want to install IID , what other option ( s) do I have ? . How soon can I get my license back ?
I am a resident of CT and have a CT driver's licence . Got a DUI in the state of Louisiana ( first offense ever , BAC of .12 ) in 2013. Refused breathalyzer test but later accepted giving Blood sample for chemical test. Pleaded no contest => paid court fees + completed community service hours + took required classes => got "motion of termination of probation " from LA court and a letter from NOLA DMV that my license ( driving privilege in LA ) has been reinstated. My attorney in NOLA is working on expungement of the record and expects to obtain such court decision by end of Sep 2014 ( note this is expected to seal the dui records). CT DMV has learnt about the DUI from NOLA DMV through ( Interstate Driver's License Compact).
Were you court-ordered to install the IID? Has Connecticut rescinded your driving privilege or suspended your license?...
Questions concerning refusal to take a breathalyzer and not submitting to any sobriety test or questions concerning sobriety.
I was pulled over for crossing the center line of a street. I was asked for my license and registration which I provided. I was asked if I had been drinking that evening because the officer said he smelled alcohol. I said there were people in my car before that I had dropped off that were drinking. He asked where I was coming from and if I had been drinking. I said "I respectfully decline to answer any questions". I started my cell phone video and asked if I was being detained and asked If could be on my way. He asked me to step out of the car and I then respectfully declined to perform any sobriety test. He placed me in handcuffs on suspicion of dui and asked if I would take a breathalyzer. i declined and then again at the station. I was told my license will be revoked. Do I have a case?
Connecticut law requires you to take a breath, blood, or urine test if you are arrested for a DUI. Connecticut’s “...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 66,757 • Total comments across all topics: 246,952,777
Copyright © 2014 Topix LLC