50°F | 47°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Appalachia, VA or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
Alcoholic ( soon to be ex) husband put his work vehicle in son's name. He did this after he got a DUI. Can this cause problems?
During the pedent lite hearing, we were told not to get rid of any assets. I recently learned that my husband told our 17 year old that he was giving his vehicle to him and that when he got his license he could get it. My husband bought another work vehicle after. 1) If my husband has problems, accidents, or tickets while the vehicle is in our son's name, will it become a problem for our son? 2) Was it lawful for my husband to change the title over to our son after the judge said not to get rid of any assets?
1) Yes. If your son allows his father to use the vehicle knowing that his father is unlicensed, he could be liable for...
He refused the breath test , spent one night in jail and vehicle was towed. He was restrained by 6 officers when he had gotten offended at their perceived disrespect towards him.He has a lawyer. He is normally a nice person but when he relapses it's a shame..We have been trying to get him to accept help for over a year since his relapse,Kids fear for him.He goes to court the 19th of this month.He has good insurance that can pay for rehab.He really needs help.His disease is costing our family much loss and heartache.
If he is found guilty of the DUI, then VASAP will be ordered. That is the basic program required by the state for such...
DUI in 2012. Recently Missouri sent me notice of Driver's License Suspension 30 days - What should I expect in Virginia?
DUI in 2012 in Missouri, received 2yr probation. Missouri violated me for minor traffic infraction. Paid fine. Yesterday, Missouri sends me a notice of 30 day driver's license suspension - 3 years after offense. Is Virginia going to suspend my license for a year?! For out-of-state DUIs you have the right to petition the court. I'm pretty sure I would be eligible for restricted but looking for guidance. Also I have completed intensive outpatient treatment and been sober for years now.
All states are supposed to honor each other's suspensions, so Virginia is supposed to suspend you. You may ask for a...
What is considered 6 months for the interlock device in a vehicle? After installation or after 6th check in?
Would it be considered 6 months after installation date or after 6 appointments? I have my 6th check in at the interlock facility next week. No failed tests, VASAP classes complete, full compliance. I'm looking to petition for the removal of the device and I'm just trying to figure out the exact time I can do that. Thanks. This is a 1st DWI and no other offenses/arrests on my record.
Most judges read that law as 6 months from the date of the installation. So, use that date. Good luck.
I've had something that's been bothering me for a while. To make a long story short, I went out with a friend for karaoke, met a European guy who seemed very nice and kept buying me drinks. When my coworker left, he offered to drive me. Since he rode with friends, I let him take my car. I wasn't aware of how drunk he may have been, and he not only wrecked my car, but he left me at the scene and told me not to say anything because of something about being deported. I wasn't sure what he meant or what was going on, so I stayed and ended up getting charged and convicted of the 1st DUI because I was at the scene, and the car was registered to me. I've had a perfectly clean record. I never said I was driving, but my mistake according to the judge is saying I didn't drive. What do I do?
If it has been more than ten days since the general district Court trial, you learn the lesson to not take...
My friend is on probation for a domestic offense and she just got a DUI. What would keep her out of jail? Or is it pretty for sure she will do jail time?
There are no guarantees, but she would have a better chance with a lawyer.
My husband was arrested for DUI, went to trial, paid all fines. He completed the sentencing required. My question is he has a out of state license (he is in the military). He has all documentation that was needed to have his restricted license. We received a letter in the mail saying that he is not licensed and cannot drive. He received a restricted license from the judge. He paid the reinstatement fee of $200 at the DMV for his out of state license.
You question hinges on what state is telling him he is licensed and can not drive. If it is his home state, then he...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 42,916 • Total comments across all topics: 254,442,106
Copyright © 2015 Topix LLC